Skip to Main Content

Piaget's Stages of Cognitive Development

The content delves into Piaget's Cognitive Stages, highlighting the evolution of logical reasoning and cognitive development across different age groups, from infancy through adulthood.
  • Piaget's theory is centered on the belief that children progress through a series of qualitatively different stages of cognitive development.
  • The four main stages are Sensorimotor (0-2 years), Preoperational (2-7 years), Concrete Operational (7-12 years), and Formal Operational (12 years onwards).
  • Each stage is characterized by unique cognitive abilities and ways of interacting with the world, from learning through senses and manipulation at the Sensorimotor stage to abstract and hypothetical reasoning in the Formal Operational stage.
  • Piaget emphasized the importance of the processes of learning and reasoning over the accumulation of facts.
  • Critiques of Piaget's theory include questionable research methods, underestimation of children's abilities, and the observation that not all adults reach the formal operational stage.
Introduction to Piaget's Cognitive Stages
Sensorimotor and Preoperational Stages
Concrete and Formal Operational Stages
Critiques of Piaget's Theory

Related Blog Posts

Correction:  Piaget was born in 1896, not 1869.  Sorry about the typo/mistake!