Skip to Main Content

Sleep; Circadian Rhythm

This content delves into the intricacies of sleep and the circadian rhythm, highlighting the significance of understanding sleep cycles, stages, and the impact of sleep on various aspects of human health and behavior.
  • Sleep is divided into cycles and stages, with adults typically experiencing 4 to 5 cycles per night, each lasting 90 to 110 minutes.
  • There are four stages of sleep, with stages 3 and 4 being combined into a single stage in recent classifications. REM sleep is considered the fourth stage.
  • Sleep stage sequencing is not linear, with variations occurring across different cycles and individual nights.
  • Different stages of sleep play distinct roles in health, including memory consolidation, mood regulation, and physical repair.
  • The circadian rhythm, an internal clock set to approximately 24 hours, regulates sleep patterns and can be influenced by external factors like light exposure.
Understanding Sleep Cycles and Stages
The Sequencing of Sleep Stages
The Role of Different Sleep Stages
Circadian Rhythm and Its Impact